The Ireland Experience Day Three

And then our last full day in Dublin began. We started our day by taking a bus to see Malahide Castle. And I have to say Malahide Castle is the Highlight I remember most of the entire trip! When we arrived there the sun was shining and you could take a walk through the parks sourounding the castle, which were full of flowers in every single colour of the rainbow (poetic I know). It was unbelievably beautiful. We took a small tour through the castle and then just lay in the green grass of the park. But the time to relax was short, as we had a few more things to see and do today. From Malahide Castle, we again took the Bus to the nearby sea and enjoyed the view. I guess we were kind of lucky that the weather was so good, otherwise we might not have enjoyed this little excoursion tot he countryside not as much. So my tipp here is: If you find yourself in Dublin and the weather is good, visit Malahide Castle, you will not regret it!

So after this little trip, we went back to Dublin and payed the Viking Museum a visit. If you are interested in Vikings and their lifestyle this is the place for you!

I did not know a lot about Vikings at that time, but this place really encouraged me to develop a interest. There is even a rebuilt boat inside the Museum.

After the visit to the Museum we had  free time to do whatever we wanted. I did the obvious thing almost every tourist would do: I went shopping around the area of our Hostel. There ae so many things you can buy in these souveir shops nowadays. I remember buying a T-Shirt saying Ireland in green and a anti-stress ball in the form of a glass full of Guiness. And that was all I did in Dublin. But my Ireland adventure was not over and some oft he best part still had to come.

Trip to the sea
Trip to the sea
The most beautiful place: Malahide Castle
The most beautiful place: Malahide Castle

The next day our little trip started early in the morning. Our trip would take us to the exact other side of the country. To a little town with the name Galway (which some of you might have heard of).

But since Galway was so close to the legendary Cliffs of Moher and we were on the road, we dedided to go and see them. Okay, so I admit we did not decide that just then… It was planned all along. Sadly it was raining, and the weather was misty, the sky was dark grey, but this did not stop us from going outside. When you arrive at the Cliffs, there is a little room under the ground that tells you a little bit about the History of the Cliffs. It is something like an information centre. We did not spend a lot of time there and directly went to the Cliffs. Exactly where the path starts there is something like a small castle right at the edge.

The little castle on the cliff
The little castle on the cliff

IMAG0350

Even through the rain the scene looked so beautiful! I can´t even imagine what it must have been like to live there. We walked about one kilomere along the edge of the cliffs.

There is a little path with a small stone wall, up to your waist, that is there to prevent you from going right to the edge. The scary thing was, that at the time that I was there, some people climbed over the wall and walked along the real edge. And what was even scarier, was that beacuse it was raining the ground was all muddy and slippery. One wrong step could have ment the end. I am just telling you this, because I want to say, that as „cool“ as it might seem, you do not have to do everything your friends tell you to do, because sometimes it is just dumb and dangerous. Listen to your own head!

Okay so to stop me from giving more life lessons, I will just contine by talking about our arrival in Galway. It was still raining so we stayed inside our Hostel for a while (The Happy Bed Hostel) and then went on a small tour to the city centre. There were a lot of small shops, local shops. We ate dinner in a local reataurant in the city centre, I sadly do not remember what it was called, but I do remember that it was near to a McDonalds, becasue some people went to get something from there later. Exhausted but happy we all went to bed.

Leave a comment